2013 Eco-Logic Awards

Awards held at Maropeng, 26 September 2013

 Biodiversity Award sponsored by Exxaro

The JNF Walter Sisulu Environmental Centre – WINNER

Delheim Wines

Endangered Wildlife Trust (EWT)


Wildlife and Environment Society of South Africa (WESSA)

Commendations: Bishopscourt Village Resident’s Association | Cape West Coast  Biosphere Reserve | EWT Drylands Programme |Pinnacle Point Conservation | Thorntree Conservancy | WESSA Blue Flag Beaches |WESSA Elephants Alive Project


Climate Change Award sponsored by Paarl Media

Coca Cola SA – WINNER


Ekurhuleni Municipality

Pick n Pay


Commendations: EcoPack | Era Architects – House Jones | GLA Eco Campus |Hotel Verde | SEED – Rocking the Daisies


Eco-Innovation Award sponsored by Standard Bank

Era Architects – WINNER

5Star Stoves

Coca Cola SA


Wildlife and Environment Society of South Africa (WESSA)

Commendations: Biotrans Pole Sleeve | Eco-Atlas | Eco-Health | EcoPack | Green Able Project | GreenPop


Energy Saving Award sponsored by SMA Solar Technology South Africa

Pick n Pay – WINNER

Hotel Verde

National Business Initiative (NBI)


Smart Solar – Coolerado

Commendations: Euroheat | Hotelstuff/ Greenstuff | LED Lighting SA


Recycling Award sponsored by Collect-a-Can

Green Office – WINNER


Earth Probiotic

Paarl Media

REDISA (Recycling and Economic Development Initiative South Africa

Commendations: ACT Clothing and Recycling | Enactus Primary | Golden Empire | SEED – Rocking the Daisies |Upcycle 


Transport Award Sponsored by Toyota

FindaLift – WINNER

Endangered Wildlife Trust

Green Cab


Standard Bank Eco-Fleet

Commendations: Pick n Pay | Triplecode – Reflective Harness Project


Water Conservation Award sponsored by Rand Water

Hotel Verde – WINNER

City of Cape Town

Eco Pools

Ekurhuleni Municipality

Water Conservation Systems

Commendations: Era Architects – House Jones | Water Conservation Systems – Redwater Diverter | Sanccob – Sanccob Projects Water Use


Municipalities Award sponsored by Santam

George Municipality – WINNER

Ekurhuleni Municipality

eThekwini Municipality

Jeffares & Green / City of Cape Town

Pinnacle Conservation / Mossel Bay Municipality

Commendations: Mossel Bay Municipality | Newcastle Municipality


Eco-Youth Award sponsored by Pick n Pay

Birches Pre-Primary Eco School – WINNER

Bodado Production & Projects

City of Cape Town

Generation Earth and St. John’s College

Uvuyo Trading

Commendations: Busisiwe Madikizela – Education Project | Generation Earth – LEAP Science & Maths School Project |Pinnacle Point Conservation | Treverton Gap Year Learner’s Project


Eco-Community Award sponsored by SABC3

Usizo Thuso Community Centre – WINNER

Pinnacle Conservation

Thorntree Conservancy

The Vineyard Hotel & Spa

WESSA Eco-Schools Programme

Commendations: Enactus Primary | Generation Earth – MESA Leadership Programme | Icologie | Shift | SANParks Honorary Rangers


Eco-Angel Award sponsored by ACSA

Margaret Roestorf – SANCCOB – WINNER

Johnathan Grieve – Avondale Wine Estate

Catherine Constantinides – Generation Earth

Mary Honeybun – Breadtags for Wheelchairs

Louise Joubert – SanWild

Commendations: Bonnie & Mandy Schumann – Endangered Wildlife Trust | Mario Delicio – Hotel Verde | Misha Teasdale – Greenpop |Natalie Rowles – Sowing Seeds Indigenous Yellowwood Project


Eco-Warrior Award sponsored by RISO

Jeunesse Park – Food & Trees for Africa – WINNER

Ella Bella – Generation Earth

Lorraine Jenks – Hotelstuff/Greenstuff

Ray Chaplin – Plastics SA’s Berg2Beach Campaign

Riaan Manser – Adventurer and motivational Speaker

Commendations: Charl du Toit – Save the Planet/ Plant a Tree | Claire Taylor & Vincent Calder – Two Oceans Aquarium |Helen Lockhart – Rethink the Bag | Julie Stacey – Ha Marokgo (Place of Bridges) | Kayden Kleinhans – Global Wheeling |Wilfred Chivell – Marine Dynamics


Lifetime Achievement Award Sponsored by Department of Environmental Affairs

Winner: John Hanks